North West’s Largest Independent Estate Agent
< Back To Events

Northern Chamber Orchestra

Strauss - Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments
Mozart - Serenade for Winds in C minor
Francaix - Musique pour faire plaisir
Strauss - Suite in B flat major

Address: Hulme Hall, 23 Bolton RoadPort Sunlight, Wirral CH62 5DH

Times: January 19th at 19:30

Tickets: £22.50 | Full Time Students and Under 18s Free

After the outstanding success of its concert last season the NCO's wind section returns with a programme focused on Richard Strauss. Strauss was just seventeen when he composed the lyrical and remarkably original Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments. His Suite in B flat major is a later and more substantial work with the same instrumentation. Almost symphonic in style, it looks forward to his mature orchestral masterpieces.

Strauss flanks Francaix and Mozart. The French composer, Jean Francaix, wrote Musique pour faire plaisir in 1984 and, as its name suggests, it is comical, light-hearted and fun. Full of memorable dissonances and characterised by dark-hued, sombre colours, Mozart's Serenade for Winds in C minor forms a dramatic contrast.

The concert is directed by the NCO wind principals.